Better Brunching: No Bisquik or Buttermilk

FullSizeRender

So last year (around this time) I made some buttermilk pancakes in Denmark. I was learning the ways of cooking outside my backward American measuring system, so it was tricky. Though they were a little gummy, I was happy to have anything American in Denmark.

IMG_3425

But they weren’t pretty. Not pretty at all. (Although the lighting was fantastic)

So I tried again this weekend, and the results were much prettier. My camp friend Lauren was visiting and stayed overnight, so I made pancakes. It’s enough for two hungry people or two somewhat not hungry people and one of those people’s roommate. These are all ingredients I always have around, so it’s really nice to be able to whip these up, say, while you’re on your 10am phone call with your dad (wait is that not a thing for everyone?)

Perfectly Fluffy (Not Buttermilk) Pancakes

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup plus 3 tbsp flour (I use unbleached ever since I discovered it, because who needs bleach?)
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 2 tbsp sugar
  • 1 egg, beaten
  • 1 cup milk
  • 1 tbsp white vinegar (apple cider vinegar is fine too)
  • 2 tbsp melted butter
    Additions as you like: chocolate chips, banana, blueberries, I’ve been known to use sprinkles…

First I melted my butter in the microwave in a Pyrex measuring cup (double duty, you’ll soon see), while I mixed dry ingredients in a bowl. Once I poured in the melted butter, I measured out the milk and added the vinegar to it. I let it sit for a minute while I cracked and scrambled the egg.

The milk with vinegar thing is because I never have buttermilk and that was called for in the Martha Stewart/Buzzfeed recipe I was adapting from. It’s really cool when you let the milk sit with the vinegar for a minute, and then when you pour it into the batter it’s chunky like buttermilk. How? The world/I may never know.

Anywho, so now you’ve got all your ingredients together and hopefully you’re whisking but not for too long because you don’t want it to get too clumpy or gummy.

Then you’re ready to put the pan in pancakes! You can put the pan on the stove now or earlier. I like my pancakes relatively small so in my pan I can fit two. It’s a small pan. And here’s the key to pretty pancakes– DON’T OVER OIL THE PAN– that is truly it. Simple. I buttered the pan only once in this batch and they turned out really pretty. Then there’s also the thing where you keep the heat not too high on your stove.

Don’t flip them until they look like this, but then flip them as soon as they look like this.

IMG_0340

And then flip them as soon as they look like this.

Then Lauren and I enjoyed a lovely stack of pancakes. It’s really such a nice way to start a Sunday morning. And no reason to waste your money on Bisquik or buttermilk.

FullSizeRender

Happy eating!

One thought on “Better Brunching: No Bisquik or Buttermilk

Leave a Reply

