Spinach Artichoke Frittata with a Potato Crust

It has been far too long. I’d like to thank my pal Tinian for messaging me today and saying she was looking at my old blog, and didn’t find anything new, so she messaged me. I guess people have different ways of staying in touch, and it’s not always active. I’m usually the one who reaches out to people to say “hey, I miss you” or “wow it’s been so long, let’s hang out.” Maybe other people like to stay in the background but follow along on the internet. It’s not that weird. Anyway, thanks Tin Tin. I miss you too.

Every Sunday I make dinner for Sunday night, which becomes lunch for the week at work. And pretty much every Monday, the work lunch buddies ask, “what’s this week’s lunch, Eleanor?” It’s a little bit in a teasing tone, even though I’m not the only one who brings lunch every day, I’m the only one who brings the same thing for a week. Lately, it has been a lot of soup.

spinachchoke

I’ll be honest, this is a fair use photo because I don’t have good picture skills.

In August, I was looking in the fridge and on the pantry shelves and trying to figure out what to make– I realized I had everything for a frittata, though I had never made one before. I took to Pinterest (but now can’t find the original recipe) My mom usually makes it with artichoke, tomato sauce and rosemary (at least that’s what I remember), but I took a bit of a different route.

Spinach Artichoke Frittata:

2-3 red potatoes (you could probably use another kind, but I like red for some reason, and they work well here)
5 eggs
1/2 cup milk
1/2 onion
3-5 cloves garlic
1/2 bag of frozen artichokes (or jarred if you like, press the oil out first)
1/3 bag frozen chopped spinach (or fresh equivalent)
1/2 cup shredded cheddar cheese
thyme
rosemary
salt
pepper
paprika
cumin
basil

*This recipe is awesome because you can swap out ingredients. You might be in a tomato/asparagus/fresh mozzarella mood, you might be in a mushroom/kale/feta mood. Or maybe you wanna do sweet potatoes (in that case peel before boiling). In any case, writing this is making me very hungry.

Preheat oven to 375.

Scrub/wash potatoes and cut out any sketchy parts. slice into 1/4 inch slices, or as thin as you prefer. Use a slotted or spaghetti spoon to put them into salted boiling water. Set a timer for five minutes

Dice your onions and begin to sauté on a hot pan. Dice garlic and add to the pan.

That probably took 5 minutes. Check on a slice of potato. It it’s soft in the middle of the slice, drain in a colander or strainer. I also rinse mine under cold water but I think it might just be hooey dogma.

When onions are soft, add spinach, artichokes, salt and pepper. Cook until the artichokes and spinach are thawed (durr) and stir them a bit so they can hopefully not be so wet anymore.

With a fork, scramble five eggs and half a cup of milk in a large bowl. Add spices. Honestly, I just open up each container, sniff it, and if it smells like it would work in what I’m making I add a few shakes. If you don’t like the ones I listed here, no worrayz. Just do something else. Unless you super like the taste of scrambled eggs plain though I would add a few things.

Reminder: check those taters. Probably done by now.

Oil the bottom of a cast iron skillet. If you don’t have one, get one! But in the meantime use a glass casserole or an oven-safe pan. I’m thinking about experimenting with pre-heating the pan and making the bottom of the frittata crispy but I haven’t done it yet so I won’t recommend here.

Lay out potato slices on the b0ttom of the pan. Break some medallions apart and fill in the gaps. Make potato salad with the rest. Or have snacks.

img_6081

Sssalt and peppa’s here

Arrange the spinach, onions, and artichokes evenly over the potatoes. Pour over the scrambled egg mixture. Sprinkle with cheese. I’m not sure 1/2 cup is really what I use. Use your judgement.

img_6083img_6084

img_6085

Here is my chance to admit my phone’s camera isn’t as hi-tech has it could be

Bake for 25 minutes or until the egg is firm and not runny. Slice and serve right away or slice and store in tupperware and reheat for work lunch. Works well with ketchup.

img_6088

couldn’t wait to take a pic the first time I made it– the one at the top is from the second time.

 

Leave a Reply

